Where you go to find cartoons, writing, book reviews and other ideas.

Random and really long-winded rambling on The Hobbit movie [vlog]

I finally recorded my opinions on The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, but instead of writing, I recorded a vlog, because, trust me, you don’t want to read the amount that I would gush write on this topic and you probably don’t want to watch this long video either, but it is probably less torturous than the writing would be.

And yes, this totally counts as this month’s book review! I didn’t post one last month anyway, so I’m declaring that this movie review counts! ;) I wanted to write a review on either A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin or American Gods by Neil Gaiman, but I’ll leave those for a later stage when I have a shortage of time to read new books to review!

So, here’s the video! It’s really, really long, but it’s the shortest I could cut it to. There were just so many things I wanted to talk about! The original video I recorded was 30 minutes long (8 minutes of which was really long pauses during which I wondered what I meant to say next), so I’m quite proud of getting it to under 16 minutes.

Also, please tell me it is not playing double… like twice in one video. Youtube really is being a female dog tonight. I’ve had to upload twice already. This has happened to me before that the video doubles itself in length by playing twice. Anyway, if it does, the whole video is just over 15 minutes long, it is really not 30 minutes, that is just YT.

It lags a bit in the middle (but only for a little while), I don’t know why. The original record was like that as well. I think that must have been when my laptop went on screensaver and I talked while watching my LotR screensaver turn. So, yeah I repeat everything twice, ramble, gush, pull some lovely faces, roll my eyes a lot (do I really move my eyes that much?!) and really not say very much in the end. Congratulations if you watched the whole thing! :P

Other things that I wanted to mention, but just couldn’t fit into the video:

- The 3D didn’t really do much for me. There wasn’t anything wrong with it, I just prefer it if 3D movies actually do great things with the 3D, but I didn’t experience it as anything else than a bit “sticking-out”. I prefer it if stuff really comes flying at you in the 3D, that’s when I feel I got my money’s worth, because 3D tickets are double the price of normal ones. All that the 3D here meant was that I had Warg-teeth in my face and the Wargs well and truly creep me out because I’m so terrified of dogs, so I really didn’t want their teeth so close to my face.

- Galadriel still irritates me as she does in the LotR-trilogy. I’m sorry, it’s totally irrational because I can’t even explain why she grates across my nerves, but she just does. I have no problems with the character in the book, I quite like her there, and I don’t have any problems with how she looks on-screen, but as soon as she speaks, I am irritated. I don’t know if it is Cate Blanchett’s voice or what, but I was disappointed that there was no improvement in my feelings about her.

- Can I just say the casting was great? Martin Freeman was the perfect Bilbo Baggins and Richard Armitage, fan that he is, did a great job with Thorin Oakenshield. Obviously there is no else who could play Gandalf like Sir Ian McKellen and I loved Sylvester McCoy as Radagast. And I could just listen to Christopher Lee’s voice all day. It’s amazing to see how formidable he still is on-screen at his age!

And then… bonus video! What happened between my friend and I after I saw The Hobbit for the second time. I didn’t actually plan on seeing it twice because my friend and I agreed to go together in the 13th and then that morning she felt sick, so I decided that I might as well make something of this day seeing that I was awake, so I just went alone to the early-morning show. The theatre was absolutely deserted (we were only like 13 people there and that the day after the première ). And then five days later I went with my friend this time to see it again. I didn’t mind. ;)

WARNING: This video contains a spoiler about the end of The Hobbit! Book, that is, not movie! Proceed with all due caution!

 

And that’s all for this week. No cartoon, I have a job to get back to, editing an eBook  Not my eBook  unfortunately, or I might have enjoyed it more. Well, it’s just a job and it needs doing.

Until next week!

Signature

2 responses

  1. I love your accent! Where is it from, if you don’t find it rude of me asking? It was interesting hearing the opinions of a real LotR/Hobbit fan, although admittedly some of what you said didn’t make much sense to me, given that I haven’t read the books or seen The Hobbit movie so I didn’t know who all of the characters were. By the way, I have a question: Are the dwarves much taller than the hobbits in the film? My sister (who is reading The Hobbit) and I had a debate about this and I’m still not sure. Also, with regards to the dwarf individuality thing, you might be interested in this: http://lotrproject.com/cheatsheet/flowchart.php. I thought it was pretty cool.

    January 15, 2013 at 10:29

    • I don’t really know, I’ve had lots of different influences! I have been working hard for years to “sound more British” as I got told in English class, when I got in trouble for having a nasal drawl. ;)
      Yes, I was speaking from the point of view of a die-hard LotR fan, so I wasn’t really aiming it at people only now introduced to Middle-earth, sorry!
      No, they’re not much taller. I’ve seen a lot of arguments about this, people complaining that there isn’t that much height difference between Bilbo and the dwarves in the movie, but then, there isn’t meant to be. In the Prologue to LotR, Tolkien himself wrote, “[Hobbits] are a little people, smaller than Dwarves: less stout and stocky, that is, even when they are not actually much shorter.” I thought that was well represented in the movie. Bilbo was about the same height as several of the dwarves (though quite a bit shorter than Thorin Oakenshield), but he definitely didn’t have their physique.
      Ah yes, I saw that one on Tumblr. It was quite funny! :)

      January 15, 2013 at 19:27

What's on your mind?

